The Aim and Purpose of My Life by Maulana Sayyid Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi

By S. Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi

A letter of Maulana S. Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi to Dr. Khaliluddin Shujauddin, in which he explained aim and purpose of his life.

Date: Oct. 19, 1987

Dr. Khalil S. Tumandar,

Chief Editor, “TONAMEC”,

Officers Quarters, 31/21 Haji Ali Park,

Bombay 400 034

Dear Sir,

I am sending you my views on ‘What is the utmost aim and purpose of your life?’, as desired by you.

With regards,

       Yours Sincerely,

(S. Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi)

 

Enclosure as above:

The aim and purpose of my life

The aim and purpose of my life or that of any Muslim, cannot be anything else than complete submission to God, the creator of this Universe. The purposiveness of the world and its dependence on God are, in the last analysis, the determinants of the worth of human life itself and in its root lies the concept of responsibility to all created beings. As one who has given faith to this concept, I treat my life as a valuable trust of which every moment is precious, this world a testing place for me and my life a trial. I deem myself accountable to God for everything I do, for I will be judged accordingly in the afterlife.

The only purpose of my life, therefore, is to attain the pleasure of God through my obedience to him, as well as by discharging my responsibilities to my fellow beings, which means being just, and kind and helpful to all and striving for unity, equality and dignity of human race to the best of my ability.

(S. Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi)

Tagged: , , ,

اترك رد

